Ballot Paper

West Bengal Panchayat Samiti Election Results 2018 Live News Updates: Counting of Votes Begins

Kolkata, May 17: The counting of votes for West Bengal Panchayat Samiti Election Results 2018 began today at 7 AM. The elections in 622 Zila Parishads, 6,158 Panchayat Samitis and 31,836 Gram Panchayats across West Bengal were held on May 14. The re-polling on 568 panchayat polling booths across 19 districts in the state was conducted on Wednesday. A total of 73 per cent voter turnout was recorded on Monday and 68 per cent on Wednesday. Stay with us for LIVE updates on West Bengal Panchayat Samiti Election Results 2018. (Click here for live updates on West Bengal Panchayat Elections Results 2018)

The polling was held through ballot paper and not by electronic voting machines (EVMs) hence, counting of votes can be expected to a long and tiring process. The ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC) has won 34 per cent of seats unopposed. (LIVE updates on Gram Panchayat Election results)

Polling for the West Bengal Panchayat Elections 2018 on Monday was marred by violent clashes. At least 12 people lost their lives. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee also condemned the incidents. Re-polling was conducted at booth number 63 in Murshidabad, 52 in Coochbehar, 28 in West Midnapore and 10 in Hooghly among others. During the process, incidents of bombing and attacks with sharp weapons surfaced from many regions.

Voting for West Bengal Panchayat Elections was to be held on May 1, 3 and 5, but as the nomination process started in April, it was rescheduled to May 14 by the State Election Commission (SEC) after the Calcutta High Court ordered to extend the nomination deadline. It also asked the SEC to announce a fresh polling date.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top