Cricket

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018: Mumbai’s Rohit Sharma Claims a Questionable Catch — WATCH



Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018: Mumbai captain claimed a catch where replays showed that the ball had touched the ground for a split second has created a controversy. After grasping it, Rohit gave out as the soft signal to the umpire and the umpire trusted Rohit and went with it. The match was being played at the MA Chinnaswamy stadium between Mumbai and Hyderabad.

The controversial episode transpired in the 19th over of the match when left-arm spinner Shams Mulani was bowling to Sandeep. Sandeep looked to cut the ball but found only the outside edge and Rohit did the rest. The batsman looking helpless stood his ground but the decision stood. Sandeep was on 29 when this happened.

Meanwhile, Rohit Sharma led India to their seventh Asia Cup crown in the absence of regular captain Virat Kohli. Kohli was given rest by the BCCI after a rigorous three-month long UK tour.

Rohit has been the vice-captain in the ODI squad and a regular in the mix as a specialist limited-overs opener. He will soon be in action against the touring Windies side in the upcoming ODI series. The first ODI is set to take place on October 21.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top