Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)

Shorapur, Shahapur, Yadgir, Gurmitkal, Chittapur Assembly Elections: Constituency Details of Karnataka Vidhan Sabha

Bengaluru, May 9: The polling to Shorapur, Shahapur, Yadgir, Gurmitkal, Chittapur assembly constituencies in Karnataka is due on May 11, 2018. The counting of votes in the five said assembly constituencies will take place on May 15 and the results will be declared on the same day. In the Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018, the ruling Congress party is up against the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

In Shorapur Assembly seat, BJP’s Naraishma Naik is in direct contest with Congress’ incumbent MLA Raja Venkatappa Naik. In the 2013 Karnataka Assembly Elections, Raja Venkatappa Naik had defeated Narasimhanayak (Rajugouda) of JD(S) by over 5000 votes. In Shahapur assembly constituency, JD(S) has contested Amin Reddy. BJP’s candidate Guru Patil Shiraval is up against Sharanabasappa Darshnapura of Congress party. In 2013, KJP’s Guru Patilshiraval had won over INC’s Sharanabasappagouda Darshanpur.

In Yadgir assembly constituency, three parties — BJP, JD(S) and Congress — are fighting. BJP has fielded Venkata Reddy Mudnal up against Dr.A.B Maalaka Raddy of Congress and A C Kadalur of JD(S). In the Gurmitkal Vidhan Sabha constituency, Naganagouda from JD(S), Saibanna Borbanda of BJP and Baburao Chinchansur of Congress are in contest with each other. In 2013, Baburao Chinchanasoor had beat Nagana Gouda Kandakura of JD(S) to become the MLA of Gurmitkal.

In the Chittapur Vidhan Sabha seat, candidates of the two national parties are in a direct fight with each other. While BJP has fielded Valmiki Naik in the Chittapur assembly seat, Congress has fielded Priyank Kharge. In 2013, Kharge had defeated Valmiki Naik by over 31,000 votes.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top