Amit Shah

Karnataka Elections 2018 Voting LIVE News Updates: Polling on 222-Assembly Constituencies Begins; BS Yeddyurappa Casts His Vote in Shikarpur, Shimoga

Karnataka Election 2018 Voting Latest Updates: The voting for crucial Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018 began at 7 AM on Saturday, May 12. Polling on 222 out of 224 seats will be held till 6 PM amid tight security. Karnataka Election 2018 Results will be announced on May 15. Over 3 lakh personnel have been deployed in the state to ensure a free and fair poll. The ruling CongressBharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and former PM HD Deve Gowda’s Janata Dal Secular (JDS) are the main contenders for Karnataka polls. A total of 2,654 candidates are in the fray for Karnataka Election 2018.

The incumbent Chief Minister Siddramaiah is contesting from Badami and Chamundeshwari constituencies for Congress, BS Yeddyurappa from Shikaripura and Jagdish Shettar from Hubbali-Dharwad for BJP and Kumaraswamy from Chennapatna and Ramanagara for JDS. The high-decibel campaign for polls in Karnataka came to an end on Thursday.

Polling will be held in 222 constituencies of the 224-member Assembly as election has been countermanded in Jayanagara following the death of BJP candidate and sitting MLA BN Vijaykumar. Meanwhile, polling in RR Nagar has been deferred over voter ID row and would be held on May 28 and results will be declared on May 31. (ALSO READ – Karnakata Polls: BJP Releases Separate Manifestos For 224 Constituencies)

Karnataka DGP and IG Neelamani Raju, while addressing media over the poll preparedness, had said that the law and order situation was under control and the Election Commission was satisfied with it.

In a first, government employees with disabilities will do duty at select polling stations. On the other hand, the voters will be able to gain information on queue status at polling stations through a mobile app, sources claimed.

Over 55,600 polling stations have been set up across the state for smooth polling. Some auxiliary booths have also been installed for voting purpose. A total of 4.98 crore voters comprising 2.52 crore men, 2.44 crore women and 4,552 transgenders, will exercise their franchise today to choose their representatives.

The campaigning which began soon after the announcement of the poll dates by the Election Commission witnessed a total of 21 rallies by PM Modi. BJP chief Amit Shah also held numerous roadshows. Rahul Gandhi also addressed a slew of election rallies to retain power in the state.  Apart from PM Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi and Amit Shah, Karnataka election campaign has seen political heavyweights like Sonia Gandhi and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath campaign for their respective parties.

In 2013, the Congress won with an absolute majority. It won 122 seats, 10 more than the majority mark of 112, while the BJP and JD(S) won 40 seats each. The voter turnout recorded then was 71.29 percent.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top