Karnataka Elections 2018: Angry Over BS Yeddyurappa’s Decision of Not Fielding His Son From Varuna Constituency; Party Workers Creates Ruckus in Mysuru

New Delhi, April 23: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday created ruckus after party’s state president B S Yeddyurappa announced that his son Vijayendra will not be contesting from the Varuna constituency.  Supporters of Vijayendra raised slogans against Amit Shah and other leaders during BS Yeddyurappa’s rally in Mysuru . The workers also threw chairs and damaged furniture. To control the party workers, police resort to lathicharge, ANI reported.

Talking about the decision, Yeddyurappa had said that it was party’s decision and they are okay with it. “The party decided that my son will not contest from Varuna constituency,” he said.

Earlier in the day, BJP had also released its fourth list of seven candidates.  BS Yeddyurappa’s son B Y Vijayendra was expected to contest from Varuna assembly constituency in Mysuru against Chief Minister Siddaramaiah’s son Yatindra.

The battle for Varuna assembly constituency in Mysuru was projected as a fight between the sons of former and current chief ministers. The BJP has not so far officially announced any candidate for Varuna. From Congress side, Dr. Yatheendra  Siddaramaiah will be contesting from Varuna constituency.

According to party sources, Vijayendra was to file his nomination from Varuna today. As PTI quoted, police said they resorted to lathi-charge to bring the situation under control.

Siddaramaiah, who has chosen neighbouring Chamundeshwari and Badami in north Karnataka to contest the May 12 assembly election, has been representing Varuna after it became a constituency in 2008 following delimitation.

Yeddyurappa’s elder son B Y Raghavendra is the sitting member of the assembly from Shikaripura in Shivamogga district. Yeddyurappa is contesting the upcoming election from Shikaripura.

The tenure of 224-member Karnataka Assembly expires on May 28. Currently, the state is ruled by Siddaramaiah-led Congress. Karnataka will go to polls on May 12. The results will be out on May 15.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top